David Starr Jordan Prize

The David Starr Jordan Prize is awarded every three years to a young scientist who is recognized for important work in one or more of Jordan's areas of interest: evolution, ecology, population and organismal biology. This Prize, international in scope, was established as an endowment to which three universities, Indiana, Stanford, and Cornell each contributed $150.000.

David Starr Jordan became President of Indiana University in 1885, at the age of 34; in 1891, he became President of Stanford University. Under his leadership, Stanford soon became the center of icthyological studies in the United States. At Stanford, Jordan became a participant in world affairs, and by 1910 he was well known for his efforts for the promotion of world peace.

The Jordan Prize is unique as the only endowment funded by three different American universities. The winner is determined by a committee of six representatives appointed by the presidents of the universities. A new committee is determined for each awarding of the prize, with the chairmanship rotating among the three universities.

David Starr Jordan, ichthyologist, educator, writer
Indiana University Archives Homepage
New Harmony Scientists, Educators, Writers & Artists
Clark Kimberling Home Page